跳到主要内容

🟡 具有推理和行动能力的LLMs

ReAct1(reason, act)是一种使用自然语言推理解决复杂任务的语言模型范例。ReAct旨在用于允许LLM执行某些操作的任务。例如,在MRKL系统中,LLM可以与外部API交互以检索信息。当提出问题时,LLM可以选择执行操作以检索信息,然后根据检索到的信息回答问题。

ReAct系统可以被视为具有推理和行动能力的MRKL系统,。

请查看以下图像。顶部框中的问题来自HotPotQA2,这是一个需要复杂推理的问答数据集。 ReAct能够首先通过推理问题(Thought 1),然后执行一个动作(Act 1)来向Google发送查询来回答问题。然后它收到了一个观察(Obs 1),并继续进行这个思想,行动,观察循环,直到达到结论(Act 3)。

ReAct System (Yao et al.)

具有强化学习知识的读者可能会认为,这个过程类似于经典的RL循环:状态,行动,奖励,状态,...。ReAct在其论文中对此进行了一些规范化。

结论

谷歌在ReAct的实验中使用了PaLM3 LLM。与标准提示(仅问题)、CoT和其他配置进行比较表明,ReAct在复杂推理任务方面的表现是有希望的。谷歌还对涵盖事实提取和验证的Fever数据集4进行了研究。

ReAct Results (Yao et al.)

  1. Yao, S., Zhao, J., Yu, D., Du, N., Shafran, I., Narasimhan, K., & Cao, Y. (2022).
  2. Yang, Z., Qi, P., Zhang, S., Bengio, Y., Cohen, W. W., Salakhutdinov, R., & Manning, C. D. (2018). HotpotQA: A Dataset for Diverse, Explainable Multi-hop Question Answering.
  3. Chowdhery, A., Narang, S., Devlin, J., Bosma, M., Mishra, G., Roberts, A., Barham, P., Chung, H. W., Sutton, C., Gehrmann, S., Schuh, P., Shi, K., Tsvyashchenko, S., Maynez, J., Rao, A., Barnes, P., Tay, Y., Shazeer, N., Prabhakaran, V., … Fiedel, N. (2022). PaLM: Scaling Language Modeling with Pathways.
  4. Thorne, J., Vlachos, A., Christodoulopoulos, C., & Mittal, A. (2018). FEVER: a large-scale dataset for Fact Extraction and VERification.

Skip to main content

🟡 LLMs that Reason and Act

ReAct1(reason, act) is a paradigm for enabling language models to solve complex tasks using natural language reasoning. ReAct is designed for tasks in which the LLM is allowed to perform certain actions. For example, as in a MRKL system, a LLM may be able to interact with external APIs to retrieve information. When asked a question, the LLM could choose to perform an action to retrieve information, and then answer the question based on the retrieved information.

ReAct Systems can be thought of as MRKL systems, with the added ability to reason about the actions they can perform.

Examine the following image. The question in the top box is sourced from HotPotQA2, a question answering dataset that requires complex reasoning. ReAct is able to answer the question by first reasoning about the question (Thought 1), and then performing an action (Act 1) to send a query to Google. It then receives an observation (Obs 1), and continues with this thought, action, observation loop until it reaches a conclusion (Act 3).

ReAct System (Yao et al.)

Readers with knowledge of reinforcement learning may recognize this process as similar to the classic RL loop of state, action, reward, state,... ReAct provides some formalization for this in their paper.

Results​

Google used the PaLM3 LLM in experiments with ReAct. Comparisons to standard prompting (question only), CoT, and other configurations show that ReAct's performance is promising for complex reasoning tasks. Google also performs studies on the FEVER dataset4, which covers fact extraction and verification.

ReAct Results (Yao et al.)

  1. Yao, S., Zhao, J., Yu, D., Du, N., Shafran, I., Narasimhan, K., & Cao, Y. (2022). ↩
  2. Yang, Z., Qi, P., Zhang, S., Bengio, Y., Cohen, W. W., Salakhutdinov, R., & Manning, C. D. (2018). HotpotQA: A Dataset for Diverse, Explainable Multi-hop Question Answering. ↩
  3. Chowdhery, A., Narang, S., Devlin, J., Bosma, M., Mishra, G., Roberts, A., Barham, P., Chung, H. W., Sutton, C., Gehrmann, S., Schuh, P., Shi, K., Tsvyashchenko, S., Maynez, J., Rao, A., Barnes, P., Tay, Y., Shazeer, N., Prabhakaran, V., … Fiedel, N. (2022). PaLM: Scaling Language Modeling with Pathways. ↩
  4. Thorne, J., Vlachos, A., Christodoulopoulos, C., & Mittal, A. (2018). FEVER: a large-scale dataset for Fact Extraction and VERification. ↩